Back to Yourself

9 February 2014
11:10 pm
Edinburgh

T. —

I’m sorry for not writing letters this week. Strangely, I’ve felt like writing a lot of letters, but didn’t really have a clear idea of who to direct them to. I’ve started up journalling again, which has helped me feel like I can get down the things I want to say, but I’m sorry for not sharing some of them with you here as well.

Do you ever have those weeks where your balance gets thrown and it takes you a while to feel like you’re coming back to yourself? It’s a myriad of elements, I think, a whole combination of things. I just don’t like how the time rushes by. I think I’ll send you a longer email, because I get so frustrated with myself for being so abstract and whiney. But then again, sometimes the big picture isn’t always specific.

Someone asked me today what I was studying, and what it was like to do a PhD in Creative Writing. I said, it’s the best excuse in the world to read a lot. And travel. Just to do the things that inspire you and bring out more writing and more insights. On Thursday, Andrew told me, when people ask you what you do for a living, you need to start telling them that you’re a writer. I think he’s right.

I’m so glad you enjoyed the wedding.

Goodnight,
M

Leave a Reply

