Unholy Ghosts

2014-01-23_T-by Allie Brosh

from Hyperbole and a Half by by Allie Brosh

from Hyperbole and a Half by by Allie Brosh

23 January 2014
10:45 PM
Manila

M.–

Last Thursday, Y. and I talked about her thesis. She’s doing a study on the correlation between depression and writing, and I told her that I was really interested about that. I shared with her a few conversations that we’ve had about this. I remember something you said, about why can’t people be happy and write, or somewhere along those lines.

I’m not sure if we’ve written to each other about that here, or through emails. Either way, I need to do a little more digging to unearth those letters.

The above images are from one of my favourite blogs, which is Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh (I just found out that it’s also a book now by the same title). This bit in particular is from her post, Adventures in Depression. I could really relate to what she’s written and illustrated. I shared as much similar notions to Y. over coffee.

Anyway, there’s much more to say about this but I’m not up to elaborating tonight. I just know that it’s crippling, to have this thing inside you. I also know that illness doesn’t make your writing special. It’s not a badge or a medal that you can wear around to impress people. If anything, you keep it to yourself and try very hard to appear normal.

You don’t have to be sad to write, but writing helps when you are sad. Except if you are too far gone on some days, and all you want to do is lie down and not care.

Goodnight,
T.

Leave a Reply

