How to Love Yourself

17 January 2014
11:48 PM
Manila

M.–

One of the things Y. told me last night: to give myself time to recover. That it’s okay if I’m not as put-together as I should have been.

I know this. I mean–I know I should know this. But it helps, hearing it every now and then from a friend.

Here and now, some things I promise myself:

  • I will eat when I’m hungry.
  • It’s okay when I don’t get it right the first time.
  • I will find a good thing to say for every detail I’m critical of.
  • I will reconnect with people in my life who care about me.
  • I won’t apologise for what I am feeling, but I will endeavour to understand why I am feeling that way.

I am thinking of you tonight, and the week you’ve had. And I’m passing on this kindness. So: give yourself time, my dear friend.

Goodnight,
T.

Leave a Reply

