Old Friends

16 January 2014
11:12 PM
Manila

M.–

Met up with an old friend this evening. I’ve always referred to Y. as Soulmate, and she does the same. We’ve been calling each other that for as long as I can remember. Although I suppose now that she’s getting married, she’s found her true soulmate for good.

I’ve missed her, and I am glad I convinced myself that I should go out today. We’ve known each other since we were in elementary, possibly even kindergarten? The years blur. We worked together for the school paper in high school, and have spent many hours talking about writing. And life, of course.

I told her how I’ve been, these past two years. I told her about my writing, about you, about my failed plans, about my dark days. It felt–I don’t know, I can’t seem to find the right words for it–but there’s just something about talking to someone who has known me ever since, whom I practically grew up with. Better yet, who grew up in the same environment, were exposed to the same things, that I can skip some details or speak out of context and she’d get the picture still. And, even if we studied in different universities in college, there’s still a connection there that enabled us to stay friends after all these years.

What I am saying, is that I just feel extremely blessed at that moment, with Y. across from me. As we sit there talking, shivering in our seats (the weather makes me feel like it’s Christmas), the night falling, I thought, how lucky am I? I’ve lost a lot of things along the way, and yet somehow I’ve managed to keep a few wonderful people like her. I haven’t been, as you know, a very nice person lately. Have been very unloveable and have failed at a lot of things, a big part of it having to do with people and relationships. And yet here we are. She stayed.

Goodnight,
T.

Leave a Reply

