In Fluent Light

Arthur's Seat by Allane Sinclair

Arthur’s Seat by Allane Sinclair

6 January 2013
2:07 pm
Edinburgh

T. —

I am listening to this song this morning:

On My Heart by Stu Larsen.

The day is weighing heavy on my heart.

*

I woke up at 4:30 and checked my phone, to find a news bulletin being circulated on Facebook that an old college friend died yesterday.

The last time we spoke was in 2007. I told him that I had gotten a scholarship to study in Scotland. He told me it would be the time of my life, because it had been the best time of his.

I’ve been trying to think of something to say today, but all the words are leaking out of my eyes.

*

The Man Whose Voice Has Been Taken From His Throat
Naomi Shihab Nye

remains all supple hands and gesture

skin of language
fusing its finest seam

in fluent light
with a raised finger

dance of lips
each sentence complete

he speaks to the shadow
of leaves

strung tissue paper
snipped into delicate flags

on which side of the conversation
did anyone begin?

wearing two skins
the brilliant question mark of Mexico
stands on its head
like an answer

*

Everything feels upside down.

Goodnight,
M

Leave a Reply

