I Am The Harmony-Seeking Idealist

another pinterest find

another pinterest find

10 December 2013
11:34 pm
Edinburgh

T. —

I’m doing some work with a friend these days where she is offering me life coaching and I am offering her sessions of the energy work/healing that I do. It’s so funny how it overlaps with our #GraceAndGratitude course. Last week, she said to me, I wanted to give you an exercise about positive self-talk and being more forgiving of yourself. I said, we just covered that yesterday. I thought I did pretty well. Instead, she gave me a physical exercise this week called “My Magnetized Heart,” about sitting with my hand on my heart, and considering, feeling, working each day to identify the one thing I feel pulled to do or the one conversation I feel pulled to have.

Two nights ago — I don’t know why — I did bedtime yoga before going to sleep. My body just felt like it needed to open.

These practices are amazingly helpful for reconfirming some things that I do already, giving me more ideas about how to move forward in a positive direction, and providing support and ideas for things I never even considered. It’s just funny (or maybe not funny, maybe just apt that they are all converging with each other).

Close your eyes and take at least ten breaths. Imagine that the air around you is filled with rich oxygen, brain fuel, and feel-good ions that are entering your skin and filling you with happiness and grace. As you begin to breathe and raise your arms overhead, stay open. Tell yourself: I am open to grace. I am open to love. I am open.

– Sarah Kathleen Peck, #GraceAndGratitude

*

Today, I found a new personality test which also matches you with career advice for your match. Both Andrew and I took it today, and it fits both of us completely to a T (no pun intended!). I am The Harmony-Seeking Idealist. He is The Laid-Back Doer. When I read my description, I felt like I understood myself so much more. I felt, how can this test know me from just four block questions? When I read the career suggestions, I thought: This is what I want to do with my life. I don’t even know what it is. But it’s exactly what I want to do.

The highlights from my type:

  • Harmony-seeking Idealists are characterised by a complex personality and an abundance of thoughts and feelings.
  • Harmony-seeking Idealists have a lively fantasy, often an almost clairvoyant intuition and are often very creative
  • As partners, harmony-seeking idealists are loyal and reliable; a permanent relationship is very important to them. They seldom fall in love head over heels nor do they like quick affairs.
  • In as far as their circle of friends is concerned, their motto is: less is more!

Highlights from the career advice:

  • As a Harmony-seeking Idealist you are one of the introverted personality types. Therefore you prefer a quiet work environment where you can intensively deal with your responsibilities and are not disturbed by too many people and repeated distractions. You need a lot of time to dwell on your thoughts, to put them into words and let your ideas take shape.
  • You are interested in the people around you and have a real sense for their motivations, needs and abilities. Your talent to see the best in everybody and your keen wish to understand others and somehow contribute to their well-being predestine you to work with people.
  • Your real strength lies in working individually with people like therapists, physicians or priests. In those professions, when advancing others in their personal development or to help them in any other way is the issue, you are unbeatable.

Unbeatable. I can be unbeatable.

I am in love with this personality test. Will you take it? Tell me what you think?

*

December 21
Ted Kooser

Clear and five degrees.

Perfectly still this solstice morning,
in bone-cracking cold. Nothing moving,
or so one might think, but as I walk the road,
the wind held in the heart of every tree
flows to the end of each twig and forms a bud.

*

Goodnight,
M

One thought on “I Am The Harmony-Seeking Idealist

  1. I’ve taken it and have written about it in my next letter.

    I think your results are spot-on actually! I agree with it. I’m going to read through your whole profile after this.

    As for career: you are really great at helping me work through things—I’m sure your friends would say the same. I always believed it’s not just because you are a great listener, there’s some skill at work there. Talent is right. And of course you can be unbeatable—you can immediately see through people’s bullshit (including mine!) 🙂

    I wish there was something to indicate what kind of personalities would complement each other. It’s fascinating that Andrew is a laid-back doer compared to your harmony-seeking idealist.

    T.

Leave a Reply

