Restarts

28 October 2013
11:56 AM
Manila

M.–

Whatever it is I’ve got planned today, consider them shot. My back is killing me, and if I manage to get through 300+ emails which I neglected over the weekend, then I’ll have a nice enough day.

T.

M.–

That was a lousy letter. But I was feeling lousy. I’m still feeling lousy. It’s this damn back.

T.

M.–

I’m still digesting your emails. Sometimes I wish I have 300 of yours instead of other things.

T.

M.–

Tiffany Shlain talks about the creative process: she says that courage is like a muscle. That you need to constantly strengthen it so you can get to the bigger projects.

Perhaps I’m building towards that, hence the ideas I’ve sent you. But I also recognise what you said about the need to focus, or at least the need to keep them all in one place. I’m going to chew on that for awhile.

T.

M.–

Yes, I’m quite weak on focus. Guess you already know that. Ha.

T.

M.–

Here is a summary from Mentorless, a website I love:

The Creative Process in 10 Acts by Tiffany Shlain:

Stage 1: The Hunch
Stage 2: Talk about it
Stage 3: The Sponge
Stage 4: Build
Stage 5: Confusion/Darkness
Stage 6: Just Step Away
Stage 7: The Love Sandwich
Stage 8: The Premature Breakthroughlation
Stage 9: Revisit your notes
Stage 10: Know When You’re Done

I think I’m stuck somewhere between Stages 1 and 2. Stage 3 is me 24/7 though.

T.

M.–

Whatever mess I’m about to get into, I’m glad you’re here.

T.

Leave a Reply

