Things That Kept Me Awake

5 October 2013
9:04 AM
Manila

M.–

I haven’t had any sleep yet. I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll be able to keep this up. I’m meeting S. in a while and I want to be fully present for her. I’ll try to sneak in a few winks after this. Or I’ll buy a shot of espresso later.

Things that kept me up all night: how to best enjoy my weekend, books I have to read, projects I want to start, how to find my way back. Where to spend Christmas. If I have enough money to buy gifts for people I love. If I can mail something to you before the year ends. Rebuilding my life. People I miss. Old loves. A childhood memory. Letters I have to write. Poetry.

I was thinking: there are thirteen ways of looking at a blackbird, and surely my tiny life merits one more glance, one more day.

Good morning,
T.

Leave a Reply

