I Have a Letter to Write You

28 September 2013
11:01 PM
Manila

M.–

– but it is not this. This is a letter to say that a letter is coming, in a few, in an hour maybe. I have been answering the five questions since this morning, and it’s been on my mind all day. I need to ask you questions. I need you to look at me and maybe ask me questions. Sometimes I think you’re me, or that you know me better than I know myself, or that you see right through all my confusion (and bullshit) and zero in on what matters. I need that.

Survival Skills
Kay Ryan

Here is the virtue
in not looking up:
you will be the one
who finds the overhang
out of the sun
and something for a cup.
You will rethink meat;
you will know you have
to eat and will eat.
Despair and hope you keep
remote. You will not
think much about the boat
that sank or other boats.
When you can, you sleep.
You can go on nearly forever.
If you ever are delivered
you are not delivered.
You know now, you were
always a survivor.

T.

P.S. The video is a clip from the film, All That Jazz, set to Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros’ 40 Day Dream.

One thought on “I Have a Letter to Write You

  1. Ask me all the questions you want to ask me. Ask me questions you want me to ask back to you. We are mirrors, you and I. As are all who write, and all who read. But particularly us.

    M

Leave a Reply

