Walt and Walt

14 September 2013
00:23 AM
Manila

M.–

We’ve just caught up on all episodes of Breaking Bad (up to Episode 13, Season 5). The good news is I can watch reviews and read analyses now without fear of getting spoiled. The bad news is that I have to wait until next week before I can see the next episode. I was watching with my sisters and father. When the screen cut to black, we just sat there for a few good minutes, stunned into silence. And then we all started yelling.*

It’s going to be a long night of speculating, and I suspect all day tomorrow (later) it’s all we’re ever going to talk about. Everything is just so good–I am infuriated with Walt but also worried for him, I am sad and angry and excited and I’ve never screamed so much at a character, at least not in recent memory. I want to plead with him to reassess his life choices, to stop lying to himself, but at the same time I want to tell him to never give up.

Man. I love it when anti-heroes are written well.

Goodnight,
T.

*Our reactions were similar to when The Red Wedding happened. But tonight was more fraught with frustration and suspense rather than horror.

P.S. When I wrote this post, I had no idea it’s going to show up in Season 3!

P.P.S. I’ve been staying away from the Walt Whitman threads in ModPo because I don’t want be spoiled with Breaking Bad things, but now I think I finally can make a few visits.

P.P.P.S. Will try to send you some of my scanned notes this weekend.

Leave a Reply

