Continual Hope

 

The Pace of Modern Life - xkcd

The Pace of Modern Life – xkcd

8 September 2013
1:04 pm

Edinburgh

T. —

I’ve been meaning to share the comic strip above with you all week. Andrew showed it to me, and it made me smile.

I wasn’t the best dinner guest last night at our friends’ house. I was exhausted, and drained, and couldn’t stomach food or sitting upright. I had been sleeping all day. Conversation was beyond me. I surprised myself, around dessert somewhere — I started to realize I was telling a story that lasted longer than 10 seconds. This is what it feels like to come back to life, maybe. To reawaken to the pace of existence, to feel up to being human again.

I love hearing your stories of book acquisitions! I congratulate you on your findings! My own reading list is expanding by the day. I’m almost finished with The Faraway Nearby by Rebecca Solnit, and have two more of her books to embark upon: Wanderlust; a history of walking and Hope in the Dark: Untold Histories, Wild Possibilities. I adore her. Have you read any of her books yet? I wish she and Cheryl Strayed were best friends.

I’m also very much still caught up in the islands, so I have two books by Mairi Hedderwick waiting for me about island life: Sea Change: The Summer Voyage from East to West Scotland of the Anassa, and Shetland rambles : a sketching tour retracing the footsteps of Victorian artist John T. Reid.

I also came home from dinner last night with three books from my friends: The End of Mr. Y by Scarlett Thomas, The Four Fundamental Concepts of Psycho-Analysis by Jacques Lacan, and Gender Trouble by Judith Butler. I am surrounded by good books. I want to just sit and live with them for days, weeks.

It’s already been a long morning. I’m hoping to get back on track tomorrow, but that always seems to be a continual hope.

Good morning,
M

 

 

Leave a Reply

