And We’re Off

Weekend haul

Weekend haul

7 September 2013
11:17 PM
Manila

M.–

Bought three more books today at another branch of the same bookstore, which cost me another $5. My sister is amazed at the titles I’ve found. I told her I seem to have a talent for it–hunting for good books beneath all that pile, I mean. Anyway, I took a photo of my loot for the weekend. I don’t really know why I bought another copy of Wild, when I already have a paperback. I just felt like I have to save it before it gets trampled on. It is too precious. I am thinking of giving it away as gift, to S., who likes hiking up the mountains. Or perhaps keep it to myself, which is selfish, I know, but I think you understand this feeling, the desire to have several copies of a book you love.

Meanwhile, I bought Ancient Gonzo Wisdom with S. in mind because she loves Hunter S. Thompson. I’m just not sure if she already has this book. (Hey, S. Let me know?) And I’m pretty sure I already have a copy of The Story of a Marriage, so perhaps this is a gift, too. Do you have it? Do you want it? Andrew Sean Greer is one of my favourite writers. His capacity for language is amazing.

Let me know of some titles and authors that you like. I can look for them for you, and mail them once I’m able. I think the book sale will be ongoing until next week. I’m going to the book fair, too, so there’s that.

ModPo has started. I don’t know if I’ve already told you, but I am a community teaching assistant for the second run of the class. It has given me so much, and it has saved my life. I wanted to give back and this is a way of doing so. Professor Al Filreis’ enthusiasm and love for poetry continues to inspire me, and I am looking forward to the next few months as I fill my days with poetry.

You mentioned that you are enrolled in several classes now? What are they? (By the way, were you ever able to finish Know Thyself? Were you able to download the videos? I’m not sure if they’re going to offer it again. I really wanted to be part of that.)

T.

Leave a Reply

