My Mooring

image

20 August 2013
5:06 pm
Windemere, Lake District

T. —

Things the Lake District has:

– Lots of hikers, winding roads, beautiful vistas and… yes, lakes.
– A surplus of chocolate labs and friendly cats.
– Welcoming and smiley people who are genuinely interested and genuinely interesting.
– Hills, farms, footpaths, a smattering of towns and villages much deserving of being preserved in watercolors. Do people paint watercolors of city-scapes?
– Peace, silence, and a lot of time to read books. I already finished “Findings” by Kathleen Jamie and a book of wedding poems.
– Small post offices and corner stores.
– A gentle way of life.
– The first car ferry mom has ever driven on.

Things the Lake District Does Not Have:
– Many roads that can fit more than 1.5 cars at the same time.
– Internet or phone service.
– Loud tourists, though it is not exempt from visitors or rude people.
– My husband.
– A little cottage where I can live and write for the rest of my life.
– The kind of false excitement cities advertise.

I do not feel this world makes many demands on me here. I’ve also discovered that I need to live much closer to water. My soul feels restless and unanchored otherwise. Water is my mooring. Thinking of it in that lens, Amsterdam was incredible with threads of rivers running under every footstep.

I’m thoroughly enjoying this break, but apologies for the erratic posts. You’ll have to help me with backdating and fixing them.

The next book to read tonight is called something like “Using Writing to Heal”.

Goodnight,
M

Leave a Reply

