Inhabit a Conscious State

Princes Street, Waterstones Book Store Cafe

Princes Street, Waterstones Book Store Cafe

16 August 2013
11:40 pm

Edinburgh

T. —

I was going to respond to your letter with my own thoughts about the critic and audience. I went to see a dance performance this morning that felt like a beacon of light. I was going to write in the afternoon. As usual, the day runs away with me, taking my energy and ability to inhabit a conscious state along with it.

I will write to you about it tomorrow, but the clincher is: When each of the dancers saw me writing in my notebook, they each thought I was a reviewer for their show. They each had a different reaction:

One perfected. One emoted. One focused. One lived.

I can’t wait to tell you about it tomorrow. It’s a day off for me, so I’ll catch up with my things that are piling above me. Writing to you, one of these things. You deserve longer letters.

*

Landfall
Kathleen Jamie

When we walk at the coast
and notice, above the sea,
a single ragged swallow
veering toward the earth-
and blossom-scented breeze,
can we allow ourselves to fail

*

Goodnight,
M

Leave a Reply

