Time

15 July 2013
1:54 AM
Manila

M.–

Today was spent reflecting on time travel. I also went back and rewatched episodes of Doctor Who, the ones that featured the Ninth Doctor (who will always be close to my heart). That’s my Sunday: weeping while eating French toast, my mind heavy with thoughts about time and space dimension, what was and what will be, what would I change if ever I had the power to go back or go forward, where would I go, etc.

I suppose I like the idea of time travel so much because it frees me from my present. (Which, I’ve got to say, is contradictory to my desire to be present in my present.) Also, it speaks of a universe that opens discussions to parallel and past lives–something I’m keen on, too.

If the Universe came to an end every time there was some uncertainty about what had happened in it, it would never have got beyond the first picosecond. And many of course don’t. It’s like a human body, you see. A few cuts and bruises here and there don’t hurt it. Not even major surgery if it’s done properly. Paradoxes are just the scar tissue. Time and space heal themselves up around them and people simply remember a version of events which makes as much sense as they require it to make.

― Douglas Adams, from Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency

The past is obdurate.

― Stephen King, from 11/22/63

When I am out there, in time, I am inverted, changed into a desperate version of myself. I become a thief, a vagrant, an animal who runs and hides. I startle old women and amaze children. I am a trick, an illusion of the highest order, so incredible that I am actually true.

― Audrey Niffenegger, from The Time Traveler’s Wife

I am thinking: I am writing this in my present and your future. It’s 2:24AM, it’s July 15th, it’s Monday. By the time you read this in your present, it will be my past.

I am thinking: time is like water. It slips through your fingers.

Goodnight,
T.

Leave a Reply

