To Read, To Do

9 July 2013
11:35 PM
Manila

M.–

1.
Two books I’m excited about lately, and wish I can buy sometime in the future:

  • The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells by Andrew Sean Greer. Time travel, depression, and a love across time–I’m in. It reminds me of his earlier novel, The Confessions of Max Tivoli. Have you finished reading it? I can’t remember if we’ve already talked about it. The way Greer writes–he has a beautiful grasp on language. Oh, but I just love him.
  • The Translator by Nina Schuyler. “Hanne’s tumble down a flight of stairs robs her of English, her native tongue, mysteriously leaving her with Japanese as her sole mode of speech…The Translator deftly illustrates literary translation as both a temporal (hence flawed) effort and a ceaseless drive to bridge time and space.” (via Shelf Awareness)

2.
Three things I need to do before the month ends:

  • Reestablish a work routine and stick to it
  • Answer letters from friends
  • Get a grip

3.
Four things I’ve been meaning to write to you about:

  • Bon Iver
  • Poetry
  • Travelling
  • Old loves

4.
One thing I’ll do tomorrow: send you something that you can play on repeat.

5.
Something I wish could happen to me someday: to watch my favourite musicians perform live.

6.
One sad thought to end the day: because of my ridiculous name, I don’t think there’ll ever be a song written for me.

Goodnight,
T.

Leave a Reply

