Gloomy Sunday

30 June 2013
7:50 AM
Manila

M.–

1.
It hasn’t stopped raining since last night. It’s been going on for about ten hours, I think, more or less.

2.
The last time I spoke at a poetry reading was six or seven years ago. You know, I could never get the hang of it. It’s one thing to speak to a large crowd, and another to read something you wrote, and poetry at that.

I always feel a bit ill when I return to my chair. I think it takes a brave face to be up there on the stage, whereas I’m awkward all the time. I remember Catherine Deneuve in a scene in The Last Metro: it’s opening night, she says she’s calm–and then she runs upstairs and throws up.

But oh, to be at a table, a drink in my hands and my back to the wall–I could do that. I could do that all night. Just listening to words, words, words.

3.
https://twitter.com/anne_boyer/status/346669382631575556
https://twitter.com/anne_boyer/status/346669704338878464

4.
My family is off to church, but it remains to be seen whether roads are passable. I’ll know once they get back.

We have a tropical storm, and Manila is currently placed under Signal #2, which means expected winds with force of greater than 60kph and up to 100kph.

5.
Goodbye, June.

A wet and windy good morning, nevertheless,
T.

Leave a Reply

