My Funny Valentine

2013-02-14_M

Valentine’s Day

Unphotographable, yet you’re my favorite work of art.

I’ve heard “My Funny Valentine” many times before, but I only heard this version today watching a TV show. I felt like I finally understood it.

Andrew came home with chocolates, potted roses and a card with e.e. cummings poetry. We had that poem read at our wedding, six months ago. It’s been a long day though; the days slide by like taffy and quicksand all at the same time. Quicksand isn’t very quick, despite what the cartoons have told me. And it’s worse if you struggle. If you just relax, your body will give into it and you’ll float. Apt metaphor for these waterlogged and cold-to-the-bone days.

But, our first married Valentine’s Day. In our own place. That’s something.

Goodnight, T.

Leave a Reply

